Dash – Remove Dash Home shortcut icons

The eight icons displayed on the Dash Home screen before a search is performed need to be removed. They no longer serve a relevant purpose with the Dash and Launcher performing all required launching functions. Additionally user testing has shown that they are a cause of confusion and difficulty, as they launch programs but lack the other features inherent to the other icons that are present in the dash.

Desired Solution:  Remove the 8 large icon links on the Dash Home Implement the following two options for user testing, with a means to toggle between the two options for user testing:

Option 1: Replace with a default view (as used by the other Lenses) showing the following category headers: “Most Frequently Used Apps”, “Recent Files”, and “Recent Downloads”. The icons used for the category headers should be the same as used for the equivalent category headers in the Lenses.

Option 2: Do not replace the icons with anything, the Dash should vertically resize.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/unity/+bug/885738

10 thoughts on “Dash – Remove Dash Home shortcut icons

  1. hand soap says:

    hand soap
    My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web page and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to finding out about your web page for a second time. hand soap

    • antecblue says:

      Hey and thank you. I try to pass on what I can, simple trick to Linux operating system will become easier and more fun to use. Articles I post them I think are important, but that does not mean that they are there for everyone, so I will continue and hope they can get the benefit of other Linux users. 🙂

  2. giant twist comfort cs says:

    I want to thank you for the exceptional post!! I surely liked every bit of it. Ive bookmarked your internet internet site so I can take a appear at the latest articles you post later on.

  3. … [Trackback]…

    […] Informations on that Topic: antecblue.wordpress.com/2011/11/04/dash-remove-dash-home-shortcut-icons/ […]…

  4. Pretty element of content. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to say that I get in fact loved account your blog posts. Any way I?ll be subscribing for your augment or even I fulfillment you get right of entry to consistently rapidly.

  5. Always remember “Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited to all we now know and understand, while imagination embraces the entire world, and all there ever will be to know and understand.” – Albert Einstein

  6. Discount Supplements says:

    Your blog rocks my socks

  7. seo says:

    Admiring the time and effort you put into your site and detailed information you present. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed information. Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

